Advanced Search


Mikko Heiniö

Born: 1948

Mikko Heiniö (born May 18, 1948) studied the piano with Liisa Pohjola and composition with Joonas Kokkonen at the Sibelius Academy from 1971 to 1975. The two years 1975-77 were spent with the Polish teacher Witold Szalonek in Berlin. Heiniö also studied musicology at the University of Helsinki, graduating in 1984, and has been Professor of musicology at the University of Turku since 1986.

In addition to composing, Mikko Heiniö is one of Finland's leading musicologists. His doctoral dissertation entitled "The idea of innovation and tradition" (1984) dealt with the musical philosophy of contemporary Finnish composers. Articles by him on 20th century Finnish music, neoclassicism, dodecaphony, serialism and postmodernism are to be found (in Finnish) in "The History of Finnish Music", volume 4, "Contemporary Music". Heiniö has also had a number of smaller articles published in the "Finnish Music Quarterly".

Heiniö has been a member of the Board of the Finnish Composers' International Copyright Bureau TEOSTO, the Foundation for the Promotion of Finnish Music LUSES and the Society of Finnish Composers, as its Chairman since 1992.


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail