Advanced Search

Work Information

Per Nørgård : Symphony no. 8

Publisher Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Sub-Category Large Orchestra
Year Composed
Duration 28 Minutes
Availability Hire  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) WH31431

Programme Note

September 19 2013
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra
John Storgårds, Conductor
Helsinki Music Centre, Helsinki, Finland

Programme note:
The first movement opens with sculptural rising and falling scales. Visually the sound may call to mind, say, spirals or ziggurats (temple towers). Brisk music leads to the climax of the movement.
The second movement is slow and sensually melodious and has three interludes of greater timbral melodic action.
The third movement begins very restlessly but towards the climax the tempo gradually begins to accelerate. An oscillating pianissimo murmur ends the movement – and the symphony.

Symphony no. 8 is commissioned by Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra and is besides the Orchestra dedicated to the conductor John Storgårds.

Per Nørgård (2012)


  • melodic and rhytmic transformational processes that recalled Sibelius but with lighter footsteps
    Guy Dammann, The Guardian, 11/03/2013
  • he has a reach as large as any composer now living
    Ivan Hewett, The Telegraph, 11/03/2013


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail