Advanced Search

Work Information

Hans Abrahamsen : Traumlieder

Publisher Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed 2009
14 Minutes
Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Score and Part(s)(s) WH30687C

Programme Note

"Traumlieder is a new arrangement, dedicated to Trio con Brio Copenhagen, of my ‘Six Pieces for Horn, Violin and Piano,’ which were originally written in 1984 as a commission from Danish Radio for a concert where Ligeti’s Trio for Horn, Violin and Piano would also receive its Danish premiere.
“The Six Pieces were based on my Studies for Piano. While writing these studies, I tried to ‘conjure up’ instrumental parts inside the piano movement. When creating the trio, I turned to six of the studies and deepened them by ‘screening’ them so that their parts and moods appeared in a clearer way. Furthermore I changed the order of the movements so a new unity appeared, beginning with a steadily hesitating Serenade in slow-motion followed by the Arabesque, which hardly gets started before it stops. Then Blues, a melancholy melody and Marcia funebre, like a fossilized picture with a dramatic, threatening outburst ending with a quiet but majestic melody in the violin and cello, a melody that disappears in the chords of the piano. Before the last movement, For the Children, is a large Scherzo misterioso.”

Hans Abrahamsen


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail