Advanced Search

Work Information

Juliana Hodkinson : sagte er, dachte ich

Publisher Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed 1999
10 Minutes
Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) WH31013

Programme Note

Sagte er, dachte ich was written for Ensemble 2000, who first performed it at the Suså festival, Denmark, on 21st August 1999. Ensemble 2000 also gave the first performance of the revised version at Musikhøst festival, Odense, DK, on 12th November 1999.
The treatment of a few melancholic or sentimental chord shifts in the four sections of this piece follows deliberately in the footsteps of Thomas Bernhard’s writing in works such as Der Untergeher. Voluntarily and involuntarily remembered moments are analysed by a memory that is haunted by bits and pieces from the past, and the greater the attempt to iterate these fragments, the more reduced and concentrated they become. In the four sections of this piece, snippets of chord progressions are replayed iteratively, resulting in moments of near spasm between their vertical and horizontal relations.


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail