Advanced Search

Work Information

Per Nørgård : Momentum

Work Notes Cello Concerto no.2
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Category Soloist(s) and Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
Duration 30 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Orchestration 1111/1110/perc/pf/str
Hire  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) WH31033
Reduced Score(s) WH31033C

Programme Note


  • Quite an experience hearing the aging composer’s mastery unfold as natural and serene as this.
    ***** (5 stars )

    Ole Straarup,, 28/04/2012
  • its unshowy and meditative way, the new cello concerto by Per Nørgård managed to outshire them all. Its subtitle, Momentum, points to the music's overall narrative, which moves from slow meditative solitude through a sense of emerging human solidarity, to an evocation of 'infinity' at the end. was embodied with such subtle, undogmatic poetry...even the hardiest sceptic would have been won over.
    Ivan Hewett, The Telegraph, 26/05/2011
  • Unshowy and meditative. Embodied with such subtle, undogmatic poetry that even the hardiest sceptic would have been won over.
    **** (4 stars)

    Ivan Hewett, The Telegraph, 25/05/2011
  • A main work which makes one anticipate Nørgård’s future creativity.
    Richard Whitehouse


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail