Advanced Search

Work Information

Per Nørgård : Canon Cantata - Oh, let me rest

Work Notes CANON CANTATA - LÅT MIG VILA for eight part canon for SSAATTB includes the simple version CANON - LÅT MIG VILA for equal voices SSAA.
Orig. Swedish text: Solveig von Schoultz, but also available in Danish, German and/or English versions:
CANON CANTATA - OH, LET ME REST (1999)(transl. by P.Nørgård)
CANON CANTATA -LASS MICH RUH´N(transl. by P.Nørgård)
CANON CANTATA - LAD MIG HVILE ( transl. by P.Nørgård)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Category Chorus a cappella / Chorus plus 1 instrument
Year Composed
Chorus SSAATTBB (incl. SSAA or TTBB) chor
Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Programme Note

PER NØRGÅRD: CANON – LÅT MIG VILA – for lige stemmer (1999)

Tekst: Solveig von Schoultz. Besides the original, in Swedish, versions are available in Danish, German and English: CANON - LAD MIG HVILE (transl. by P.Nørgård), CANON - LASS MICH RUH´N (transl. by P.Nørgård) and CANON - OH, LET ME REST (transl. by P.Nørgård)

The vocal canon for equal voices was commissioned by the Finnish ”Sang- og Musikforbund” for the Espoo Festival, premiered under the Swedish choirleader Gunnar Eriksson. The poem by the Swedish Solveig von Schoultz´ has a streaming quality, telling about the bird, resting in its “soaring now” that inspired me to the continuous drifting and waving of the voices of the canon.
The simple CANON - LET ME REST led to a longer and more complex composition, where the four part canon is combined with a three times slower version of the same canon, also for four (deeper) voice parts. The piece developed into a larger work of 8-10 minutes – titled CANON CANTATA – LET ME REST – for eight part choir (SSAATTBB). The cantata is flexible and allows gradual build ups and fade outs, or passages of accelerando or rallentando, for example a male version of the fast canon gradually getting slower, whereafter the females enters with the fast version, or a passage where a female version of the slow canon accelerates to the fast version, whereafter the males enters with the slow version, creating an eight part complete version.
Canon Cantata may be arranged in many ways – also with regards to language, using the four existing version: English, german, Danish and Swedish (original).
The published CANON CANTATA includes the simpler CANON.
Per Nørgård


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail