Advanced Search

Work Information

Peter Bruun : Quest

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed 1996
13 Minutes
Orchestration vc, fl, cl, perc, pf, egtr
Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) WH 30484

Programme Note

The piece is in three movements: the first movement present three different types of music juxtaposed, meeting in the end in a chaotic, brutal sound. The second movement is the longest, consisting of an expressive opening and a gradual build-up of an exstatic, motoric motion until a climax; the opening then comes back and the music dies away. The third movement is a very short pianissimo echo.

The primary focus of the piece is the element of sound. Polyphony is absent, and the instruments are always "packed together", playing in a very narrow register, merging into a dense, monophonic or occasionally heterophonic sound. The harmony is based on drones and the tonality is G#, modulating only once (in the climax of the second movement) and all the motivic material is derived from a kind of G#-Phrygian scale. All in all this gives associations to the sound-world of oriental ethnic music.
Peter Bruun.


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail