Advanced Search

Work Information

Hans Abrahamsen : 10 Preludes (Strygekvartet nr.1)

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub-Category String Quartet
Year Composed
Duration 20 Minutes
alt.: Str
Availability Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) WH29531B

Programme Note

In all their briefness these ten "short-stories" for string quartet contain almost all that can be desired of musical expressions within the relatively short period of 20 minutes.
Violence expressed as joy, simplicity as necessity, contrasts as form.
The eruptive side of the music is not sharply segregated from the simple, harmoniously melodious side.
Each of the "short stories" point forward to the next and at the same time back to its predecessor and thus makes for a composed overall-structure.
That the last of the preludes is a straight Baroque-pastiche could be interpreted as an almost Holbergian moral where things are sorted out and loos ends tied.
Like in the fairy-tales one could say, " . . . There, this was a true story".


  • Each short movement is exactly and economically presented, and each has an individual flavour within a fundamental unity
    Allan Blyth, The Daily Telegraph, 22/04/1983


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail