Advanced Search

Work Information

Hans Abrahamsen : Symphony

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Sub-Category Large Orchestra
Year Composed
Duration 14 Minutes
Availability Hire  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) KP00523

Programme Note

Symphony (no.1) was written in 1974, and consists of 2 movements dialectically related to each other.
1st movement: A dynamic development with a material expanding within the frames of the classical sonata form. This has not been made from a 'neo-classical' point af view but from a 'concretistic'. The Sonata form is applied mechanicallly - it is a strait -jacket.
2nd movement: A sound-weaving of threads from time to time converging into pastoral openings, which are thrown in relief with the born sound. The pastorals disappear in the combination of threads, echoes are heard in the subdued horns. The movement ends with a reference to the opening of the first movement.


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail