Advanced Search

Work Information

Per Nørgård : Returns

Work Notes Returns was the point of departure for a later version for flute and guitar (called "Mating Dance").
Wilhelm Hansen
Category Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
Duration 11 Minutes
Availability Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) WH29441

Programme Note

RETURNS (1976) - for guitar solo.

Returns (1976) is a work for solo guitar with a focus on rhythm, a piece in one movement divided in three sections (with energy – reflective - with energy). The melodies grow out of the changing accents in a series of dynamic developed four tone patterns, and the swinging, swaying rhythms are often based on the Golden Section (near to the relations 2:3:5:8:13 et cetera, known as the Fibonacci series), instead of the normal regular rhythms and durations of 2-4-8 (or 3-6).
The title gives a hint about the wave-like nature of the music. Like waves with its layer-upon-layer expresses an eternal return with eternal, small changes so the music develops layers-upon-layers of related motifs, themes and formal sections, making it possible for the musician to, so to speak, grow into the music.

Per Nørgård (2008)


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail