Advanced Search

Work Information

Poul Ruders : Oboe Concerto

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Soloist(s) and Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed 1998
20 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s) Oboe
Availability Hire  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) WH 30497

Programme Note

Poul Ruders: Oboe Concerto

The Small concerto for solo oboe and chamber orchestra was commissioned by The Royal Library of Copenhagen for the inauguration of a concert hall located at the new library annex, the so-called Black Diamond, September 1999.
The work as such focuses more on the contemplative and sonorously introvert, rather than more virtuosity; it is in four movements, what could be called four little tone-poems on (and inspired by) the names of the four moon craters known as: Lake of Dream - Ocean of Storms - Sea of Tranquillity - Lake of Death, four enigmatic and deeply fascinating ancient conceptions of the landscape on this our closest, but at the same time most legendary and myth-shrouded celestial body.
The work was composed in 1998 for Athelas-Sinfonietta Copenhagen and Swedish obo virtuoso Helen Jahren. The work was dedicated to Helen Jahren.

Poul Ruders, March 1999


  • It's a significant concerto, period, that creates a strong, alternative route for other composers to follow
    David Patrick Stearns, artsJournalblogs, 10/04/2013
  • Four images of lunar landscapes form a course of life where dreams evolve into storms and eventually die
    Jens Brincker, Berlingske Tidende, 08/09/1999


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail