Advanced Search

Work Information

Vagn Holmboe : Concerto for Violin no.2, op.139

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed 1979
25 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s) Violin
Availability Hire  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) WH30869
Reduced Score(s) WH30869D
Solo Part(s) WH30869C

Programme Note

The Violin concerto was composed during the winter 1978-79 especially for Anton Kontra.
There are 3 movements: First an extensive and varied dark allegro with the solo violin sometimes in contrast to the orchestra, sometimes influenced by it and once more emancipated and improvisation-like.
2nd movement, adagio, is lyrical but intense in its expression and ends with a cadence which leads directly to the concluding allegro molto where the solo violin is frisky and to some extent dominates the music to its end.

Vagn Holmboe


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail