Advanced Search

Work Information

Anders Koppel : Sonatine

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed 2002
17 Minutes
Orchestration fl(pic), ob, cl, bn, hn
Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) KP01227
Set(s) of Parts KP01257

Programme Note

My Sonatina for wind quintet was written in January 2002. The three movements of the work (Moderato, Andante Sostenuto and Allegro con brio) are very much based in both structure and idiom on the classical tradition and gesture - the transformations in the first movement, everything kept in place in a tight classical form. The wind quintet’s many commedia dell’arte masks are presented with humour, and the work recalls works from musical history where composers have been inspired by spontaneous popular gaiety.

Anders Koppel, 2003


  • “For the concert also included a world premiere – Anders Koppel’s Sonatina, which the Brage Society commissioned to celebrate its own anniversary and as a gift to the city of Randers. Anders Koppel’s Sonatina, which has hitched its destiny to Brage and to Randers, is a very beautiful and even-tempered work. The three movements of the sonatina form a universe that ranges from the merry in broken lines, shifts in rhythm and tempo, and reminiscences of classical works transformed beyond recognition (first movement), to the delicate, yearning and wistful (second movement), only to explode in the last movement. . .”
    Monica Papazu, Randers Amts Avis, 27/09/2002


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail