Advanced Search

Work Information

Per Nørgård : String Quartet no. 10 - Harvest-Timeless

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub-Category String Quartet
Year Composed
Duration 14 Minutes
Availability Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) KP01585A
Score(s) KP01585

Programme Note

During the composition of my tenth string quartet a flower-name, høst-tidløs, came to my mind – and it would not me leave again. [høsttidløs is actually autumn crocus in English, but the composer prefers harvest-timeless, to maintain some of the associations of the Danish flower-name, red.]

The paradoxical union of a seasonal time (harvest) and no-time-at-all was a good fit to the sections of the work that I had composed at that time, and I decided to tentatively stick to that title for the work-in-progress, and now, having finished the piece, I can say that is is still a fitting title – and it stands. Enough about the title, I will go on to describe the music, a somewhat more precarious project.

My tenth string quartet is probably the most basic string quartet that I have composed; melodically – and in sound – it employs the naturally based overtones and undertones* (perceived at major and minor, respectively), and rhythmically it is based on growth, on the principles of the Golden Section, and the structure itself contrasts abundance and exuberance with sections of immobility and contemplation.

However, Melos, melody, is definitely the dominating aspect of my STRING QUARTET NO. 10; behind even the most rhythmically complex or pure sonoric sections lies a firm – if hidden – basis of melodic or polyphonic ideas.

The work was composed in 2004-2005 for the Kroger Quartet.


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail