, Wilhelm Hansen">
Advanced Search

Work Information

Per Nørgård : Secret Voices

Work Notes Based on "Sonata - The secret melody", the first part of the work 'Libro per Nobuko'.
Wilhelm Hansen
Category Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
Arranger / Editor Jakob Kullberg
11 Minutes
Orchestration vn, vc
Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Programme Note

SECRET VOICES (1992). For violin and cello.
SONATA - ´The Secret Melody´
I - Prologue,
II - Roaming,
III - Singing,
IV - Playing,
V - Epilogue
The name of the sonata in five movements is “LA MELODIA SEGRETA (THE SECRET MELODY). The title is borrowed from a book by Trinh Xuan Thuan, the Vietnamese astrophysicist. Of the mysterious and inexplicable order of the universe he writes: Nature sends us the notes of a music formed by a melody that will remain secret forever.
The five movements of the sonata circumscribe a hidden melody: a clear melodic shape appears often enough, but it soon reveals itself as being part of another, superior melody - and so on. In this labyrinthine way the three middle movements, framed by a short prologue and epilogue, unfold different moods (roaming, singing, playing) in an eternal hide-and-seek of the melody (melodies).
The version for violin and cello (of the original viola work, for Nobuko Imai) is by Jakob Kullberg.
Per Nørgård (2004)


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail