Advanced Search

Work Information

Per Nørgård : Esperanza

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed 1997
Arranger / Editor
Jesper Nordin
Duration 4 Minutes
ssx, asx, tsx, barsx
Availability Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Programme Note


'Tortoise Tango' (1984), ´Light of a Night - Paul with bird (1989) and 'Esperanza - Hermit Crab Tango' (1997) are (the first) three movements of a suite 'Animals in Concert' for piano. The movements can be performed separately.

Esperanza and Tortoise Tango were arranged for saxophone quartet by Jesper Nordin in 2001 – these also for bandoneon and small ensemble by Niels Rosing-Schow, in 1999).

Per Nørgård writes about ESPERANZA: The tango situation is quite special for a Hermit Crab. It is a well-known fact that the hermit crab - this soft animal - must run the gauntlet among the many perils at the bottom of the sea when it must move hose. I have chosen to express the angers by a tango pattern - sharp as a cactus - through which the tune, optimistic, slips to its new shelter. I have borrowed the tune from songwriter Hanne Methling's “Introduction”: 'I want to get through this time!' she sings in a ecstatically ascending melody line - and I believe that these words must correspond very well to the mood of the hermit crab: 'Esperanza' - the green runners of hope wind among the latticework formed by the tango rows.
Per Nørgård


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail