Advanced Search

Work Information

Peter Bruun : Twelve to Remember, Twelve to Come

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Soloist(s) and Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed 2001
13 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s) Trombone
alt.: Trombone; 1(pic)(afl).1(ca).2.2/
Availability Hire  Explain this...

Programme Note

The trombone concerto has been given the slightly cryptic title Twelve to remember twelve to come. The title refers to twelve irregular beats that are struck at the start of the piece by the percussionist on three clanging bottles. The figure 12 later becomes the most important building-block in the rhythm of the piece, and the twelve beats from the beginning return right at the end. The concerto was written for the trombone virtuoso Jesper Juul Sørensen, originally for trombone and large chamber ensemble. It was given its first performance in 2001 by Jesper Juul Sørensen and Athelas Sinfonietta Copenhagen. Later the piece was reworked for trombone and orchestra - a version given its first performance by Jesper Juul Sørensen and the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra in 2003.

Peter Bruun.


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail