Advanced Search

Work Information

Bent Sørensen : Sieben Sehnsüchte

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed 1999
19 Minutes
Orchestration vn, pf
Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) KP00906

Programme Note

Sieben Sehnsüchte was written in 1999 for David Alberman and Rolf Hind. As the title suggests, it is in seven movements - each more insanely difficult and bothersome than the other. All sorts of possible and impossible playing techniques have been used, and the performers have to both whistle and sing. However, it is not the intention that the slightly more unusual sound should be heard as effects. Everything is supposed to fuse together into something that is in itself a little opera - a ‘chamber piece’. It was written in a period when I was waiting impatiently for the libretto for Under the Sky, and I see it as a meeting (or seven meetings) between two people - two instruments - longing for each other; longing to merge together. The piece is a kind of sister work to Roses are Falling.

Bent Sørensen


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail