Advanced Search


Niels Rosing-Schow

© Suste Bonnén
Born: 1954

Niels Rosing-Schow, born 1954 in Copenhagen, studied musicology at the University of Copenhagen from 1972 to 1979. In 1984 he passed the diploma examination in music history and music theory at the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen, where he now teaches theory classes and composition. From 1984 to 1987 he studied composition with Ib Nørholm, and afterwards in France in 1987. A marked sense of lyrical expression has al-ways been a characteristic of Niels Rosing-Schow, but in the later years he has combined this with an experimental explora-tion of the more dramatic and expansive possibilities of his musical material. Niels Rosing-Schow has composed works commissioned by among others The Sealand Symphony Orchestra, The Odense Symphony Orchestra, The Capricorn Ensemble, the Danish Radio, the Lin Ensemble, the Athelas Ensemble and the Royal Theatre, Copenhagen. His most important works include TRIO PER FLAUTO, VIOLA ed ARPA (1983), the ensemble works EXTRACTION (1985), DOUBLE (1987), ...SOUS LES RALES DU VENT D'EST (1993), the orchestra pieces TWOFOLD (1982) and CHAMBER CONCERTO for alto flute, viola and orchestra (1988), the vocal works CHANTS DE L'OMBRE (1987) for mixed chorus and ARCHIPEL DES SOLITUDES (1995) for mezzo soprano, chorus and large orchestra and the chamber operas FIRE (1989) and THE JUDGMENT (1996). Niels Rosing-Schow received the Wilhelm Hansen Composer Prize 2000.

External Websites


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail