Advanced Search

Work Information

Per Nørgård : Strings

Publisher Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed 1992
12 Minutes
Orchestration vn, va, vc
Sale from Musicroom or Music Dispatch  Explain this...

Buy from 
Full Score(s) KP01102

Programme Note

STRINGS (1992) for violin, bratsch og cello.
I. Moderato
III. Adagio
IV. Presto
The title is referring - of course - to the ensemble performing the music, and also to the various ´strings´that link together the four movements.
The first movement is a freewheeling, lyrical ´Fantasia´, in which two smoothly moving motifs meander around one another, strongly featuring rhythmical durations to each other in proportions close to the golden mean (approx. 3 : 5 : 8). This approach to rhythm reappears in the fourth movement as the accompanying basis for long spun solos in the violin part, which, in its turn, is derived from the melodic content of the second and third movements.
In the formal structure, however, the four movements are sharply contrasting: the initial ´Fantasia´ is followed by a short, intense hammering, scherzo-like ´Perpetuum mobile´, contrasted by en equally short Adagio with uninterrupted contrapuntal developments between the three instruments. Further contrast is heard in the fourth movement - a vivid Finale in which a complicated (´golden´) rhythmic polyphony accompanies the wide-spun melismas of the violin. However, towards the end, this garland of rhythm and melody is dissolved into its two components, both having had their brief heydays before the work accelerates into a shimmering nothingness.
Per Nørgård (1992)


Please sign up for our free newsletter with the latest news and works.

* First Name
* Last Name
* E-mail